R.E.M., Timbaland, and Steely Dan to Be Inducted Into Songwriters Hall of Fame 2024

The Songwriters Hall of Fame has announced its class of 2024, with R.E.M.TimbalandSteely Dan, singer-songwriter Hillary Lindsey, and Footloose lyricist Dean Pitchford among the inductees. An induction gala will take place at New York’s Marriott Marquis Hotel on June 13.

Songwriters Hall of Fame chairman Nile Rodgers said in a press release:

I’ve said it before, but the music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first. Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch… nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter. We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2024 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and literally enriched music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.

Public Enemy, George Clinton, and Tracy Chapman were among the nominees not inducted this year. Special award honorees will be announced later, the Songwriters Hall of Fame noted. Last year’s inductees were due to include Sade and Snoop Dogg, but their induction was deferred for scheduling reasons.

 Post Views: 1,125